Technically, I’m re-reading Failing the Trapeze by Susan V. Meyers. It was a prize winner for one of the contests at Southeast Missouri State University Press where I worked for a couple years before moving back to St. Louis. I read the initial manuscript submission, but left before the editing and publishing process was finished. So this is almost like reading it for the first time. This was my selection for book club. I tend to choose books that have strong female leads and evaluate their relationships between mothers and daughters. I’m a little over half-way through with this one and I’m loving it just as much as I did the first time through.

I’ve gotten a lot more reading done lately. I’ve been making it a priority to read a little bit each day. I’ve also taken a break from social media, so I’ve got a lot more free time now that I’m not mindlessly scrolling through Facebook. I have decided audiobooks just aren’t for me. They make me sleepy and I feel like I miss important parts because it’s easier to get distracted when listening to a book than when I’m reading it. So I finally renewed my library card (although I still have to go pick it up). Then I can hopefully read more books from the library so I’m not buying as many (unless of course they’re really good).

I still haven’t finished Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald or Jane Eyre. Maybe I’ll get back to those once I finish Failing the Trapeze. My to-be-read list just keeps on growing though. And there are a few classics I didn’t read in high school or college (like 1984 and The Handmaid’s Tale) that I’d like to read in the near future, so you might see those pop up on here soon. I especially want to read The Handmaid’s Tale since Hulu is making a series for it (not sure when that’s coming out though).

So that’s my update. I should have a review of Failing the Trapeze in another week or so. In the meantime, what are you reading?

